HAS 2018 Speakers

Plans are coming together for HAS 2018 at Washington University in St. Louis.

Confirmed speakers include:

  • Dr. May Berenbaum, Entomology department head at the University of Illinois Champaign-Urbana, whose research focuses on the chemical interactions between herbivorous insects and their host-plants.
  • Dr. Marla Spivak, a MacArthur Fellow at University of Minnesota’s Bee Lab.
  • University of Minnesota Bee Squad, a beekeeping instructional and public outreach program to encourage collaboration and public education about bees.
  • Dr. Keith Delaplane, director of the University of Georgia Honey Bee Program.
  • Jennifer Berry, University of Georgia Honey Bee program lab manager.
  • Dr. Dennis vanEngelsdorp, University of Maryland Honeybee Lab, who directs the Bee Informed Partnership, the Tech Transfer Program and the annual national beekeeping management surveys.
  • Samuel Ramsey, University of Maryland PhD candidate and researcher.

Additional HAS 2018 speakers, in alphabetical order:

  • Pete Berthelsen, Bee & Butterfly Habitat Fund Partnership Coordinator, President
    Conservation Blueprint LLC and wildlife biologist.
  • Dr. Dewey Caron, Emeritus Professor of Entomology & Wildlife Ecology, University of
    Delaware, and Affiliate Professor, Dept. Horticulture Oregon State University
  • Phil Craft, retired KY state apiarist (from 1999 through 2011.) He is a past president
    and past chairman of the Heartland Apicultural Society, past program chairman of
    Eastern Apicultural Society and past president of the Apiary Inspectors of
  • Krispn Given, Purdue University Department of Entomology Apiculture Specialist, Vice
    President Indiana Urban Pollination Project. Vice President. Heartland Honey Bee
    Breeders Cooperative.
  • Dr. Jeff Harris, Extension/Research Apiculturist at Mississippi State University.
  • Ana Heck, University of Minnesota Bee Squad bee lab Program Manager.
  • Dr. Tammy Horn Potter, KY State Apiarist and author “Bees in America: How the
    Honeybee Shaped a Nation”, a compilation and study of fact, folklore and history
    of the honey bee.
  • Dr. Greg Hunt is Emeritus Professor of Entomology Purdue University and Trustee for
    the Foundation for the Preservation of the Honey Bee.
  • Bridget Mendel Lee, University of Minnesota Bee Squad Project Coordinator and Grant
  • Martin Marklin, Hand-carved Liturgical candle maker and beekeeper from Contoocook, New Hampshire, Marklin took up beekeeping as a sideline to his main candle business.
  • Becky Masterman, University of Minnesota Bee Squad Associate Director.
  • Dr. Jim Tew, Beekeeping Specialist for the Alabama Cooperative Extension System,
    Auburn University and Emeritus Professor, The Ohio State University.
  • Jenny Warner, a founding member of the UMN Bee Squad.
  • Dr. Tom Webster, Apiculture Extension Specialist and Adjunct Faculty, Kentucky State
  • Kent Williams, past president Eastern Apicultural Society (EAS), EAS master beekeeper
    maintaining apiaries in KY and southern Mississippi.
  • and more…